Skip to main content


Agatha Awards 2018

Malice Domestic has announced the 2018 Agatha Award nominees. The Agatha Awards honor the "traditional mystery," books typified by the works of Agatha Christie and others. For the purposes of Malice Domestic, the genre is loosely defined as mysteries that contain no explicit sex, excessive gore or gratuitous violence, and are not classified as "hard-boiled." The Agatha Awards will be presented on May 4, 2019 during Malice Domestic 31.

Andrew Carnegie Medals for Excellence in Fiction and Nonfiction 2019

Congratulations to Rebecca Makkai and Kiese Laymon, the 2019 winners of the Andrew Carnegie Medals for Excellence in Fiction and Nonfiction. Makkai won the Andrew Carnegie Medal for Excellence in Fiction for her novel, THE GREAT BELIEVERS, published by Viking, an imprint of Penguin Random House. Laymon won the Andrew Carnegie Medal for Excellence in Nonfiction for his memoir, HEAVY, published by Scribner, an imprint of Simon & Schuster.

Edgar Allan Poe Awards 2019

Mystery Writers of America (MWA) has announced the nominees for the Edgar Allan Poe Awards, which honors the best in mystery fiction, nonfiction and television published or produced in 2018. The awards will be presented to the winners at MWA's 73rd Gala Banquet on April 25, 2019 at the Grand Hyatt Hotel in New York City.

The National Book Critics Circle Awards 2018

The finalists for the 2018 National Book Critics Circle Award have been announced in six categories: Autobiography, Biography, Criticism, Fiction, Nonfiction and Poetry. The winners of three additional prizes (The Ivan Sandrof Lifetime Achievement Award, The John Leonard Prize and Nona Balakian Citation for Excellence in Reviewing) were also announced. The awards will be presented on March 14, 2019 at the New School in New York City.

The National Book Awards 2018

The winners of the 2018 National Book Award in Fiction, Nonfiction, Poetry and Young People's Literature were announced at the 69th National Book Awards Benefit Dinner and Ceremony at Cipriani Wall Street in New York City on November 14, 2018.

The 2018 Kirkus Prize

At a special ceremony at the new Central Library in Austin, Texas, Kirkus Reviews, the nation’s leading journal of prepublication book reviews, announced the winners of the fifth annual Kirkus Prize in the categories of fiction, nonfiction and young readers’ literature.

The Man Booker Prize for Fiction 2018

MILKMAN by Anna Burns has been awarded the 2018 Man Booker Prize for Fiction. The novel concerns a bookish young woman growing up in a city rife with factions who is pressurized by an older, more powerful man with an unsettling sexual interest in her, and tormented by the vicious tongues of her neighbors. It is about the misuse of power and about the pernicious effects of gossip and rumor.

Anthony Awards 2018

Bouchercon, the World Mystery Convention, is pleased to announce the Anthony Award winners for 2018. The Anthony Awards are presented at each annual Bouchercon with the winners selected by attendees. The award is named for the late Anthony Boucher (William Anthony Parker White), writer and critic from the New York Times, who helped found the Mystery Writers of America.

Macavity Awards 2018

The Macavity Award winners were announced at the Bouchercon 2018 Opening Ceremonies in St. Petersburg, FL on Thursday, September 6th.

The Macavity Award is named for the “mystery cat” of T.S. Eliot (OLD POSSUM'S BOOK OF PRACTICAL CATS). Each year the members of Mystery Readers International nominate and vote for their favorite mysteries in five categories.

International Thriller Writers Awards 2018

On July 14, 2018, during ThrillerFest XIII, the International Thriller Writers (ITW) announced the winners of the 2018 Thriller Awards at the Grand Hyatt in New York City.